Cox Capitol Theatre
Executive Director Julie Wilkerson (julieywilkersonaolcom)
|Cox Capitol Theatre.
382 Second Street
Macon, GA 31201
Phone: (478) 257-6391
The Capitol Theatre opened its doors for the first time on November 10, 1916 and was immediately recognized as one of the most progressive of its time. Leather furniture with mushroom air holes under each chair and cork floors provided a comfortable and quiet motion picture experience, while chic ivory and black fixtures provided electric lighting throughout the house.
The women’s restroom, located on the mezzanine floor, was decorated with Persian upholstered white whicker furniture. In the ladies’ room were a lavatory, mirror, dressing table, telephone, and of course, a maid. The theater screen was made of gold-fiber, a modern answer to the problem of flickering on older screens. Admission was fifteen cents.
In 1927 the Capitol closed for renovation, re-opening on September 5 and boasting a $30,000 Wurlitzer pipe organ, constructed especially for motion pictures and able to play the cutting edge sound effects of the time, as well as new carpet, curtains, projection machines and an “ice water machine.” Admission was 25 cents for a matinee and 30 cents in the evening. Air conditioning arrived in 1946, making the Capitol Theatre a popular downtown destination.
On September 6, 1976 the Capitol Theatre closed its doors, a victim of the suburban expansion phenomenon that had been sweeping the country since the end of World War II. It sat neglected for thirty years, soaking up rain water from a hole in the roof, sometimes serving various organizations, but never living up to the potential for which it had originally built and for which it originally served—entertaining the citizens of Middle Georgia in a unique and grand style.
In 2003, recognizing its historic and cultural significance, New Town Macon, Mercer University and project managers David Thompson and Tony Long began the journey that restored the dignity of this magnificent theatre. Their vision to preserve the history and architecture of the theatre has made it a cornerstone in the revitalization effort of downtown Macon.
Incorporated: December 9, 1852 Population: 153,887 Total Area: 250 Square miles
The county, the 54th county formed, was named for Dr. William Wyatt Bibb. Dr. Bibb lived in Elbert County, and served in the U.S. House of Representatives in the U.S. Senate. He was appointed governor of the Territory of Alabama in 1816 and became the first elected governor of that state.
Macon was incorporated in 1823 and named after Senator Nathaniel Macon of North Carolina—the home state of most of the early white settlers in the area. Macon’s City Hall served as the temporary state capitol from November 1864 to March 1865.